Crash puts paid to Atkins’ WMCCL challenge

Joe Atkins, Raleigh’s Cyclocross rider took on Round 4 of the WMCCL at Tackeroo, Cannock on the weekend. He writes:

Joe Atkins on the Raleigh RX Race carbon cyclocross bike

Joe Atkins on the Raleigh RX Race carbon cyclocross bike

 

“Not the best day. I knew I wasn’t going to be as fast in the single track wooded section so I went straight from the start with two other riders. We had a good gap but I fell off the pace towards the 3rd lap I then crashed hard trying to avoid a rider that was on the floor. After getting my bike untangled from a bush I managed to finish 12th which was very disappointing after that start.

A disconsolate Joe Atkins after crashing in WMCCL Round 4

A disconsolate Joe Atkins after crashing in WMCCL Round 4

“Next week I’m hopefully racing both Notts and Derby at Allestree Park and WMCCL Round 5 at Halesowen to build my form before the first round of the National Trophy in Wales.”

Joe Atkins with a clear lead

Joe Atkins with a clear lead

On the plus side, Joe adds: “There has been a huge amount of interest about the cyclocross bikes at the races – everyone thinks they look great. The new Raleighs also looked amazing at the Cycle Show.”

Thanks Joe! Good luck for Allestree Park and Halesowen.

Leave a Reply

