Home win for Nick Barnes at Temple Newsam

As reported on the Yorkshire Cyclocross Association website, Nick Barnes (Zepnat) took his first victory of this year’s Yorkshire Points with a comfortable win in Temple Newsam, Leeds, underlining his growing reputation in the sport.

Nick Barnes wins at Temple Newsam

Nick Barnes wins at Temple Newsam

Nick writes:

“This being my local event, only five miles from my house, also my dad being the organiser, there was quite a bit  of pressure on my shoulders.

“The course is extremely tough but has some nice recovery sections if used correctly. I had a mediocre start but managed to drag my way to the front by the first corner. I was closely followed by Dieter Droger and Jack Clarkson just a few seconds behind. I led the first half of the lap through the woods, then Dieter went to the front and picked the pace up a little.

Nick Barnes in action at Temple Newsam

Nick Barnes in action at Temple Newsam

“The next few laps were fairly steady, as Dieter had raced Saturday and my legs didn’t feel 100%. During this time Jack had bridged the couple of seconds gap. Then the cat and mouse began. It lasted for around 30-40 minutes where the 3 of us were reluctant to do any big turns.

“Coming towards 4 laps to go, and after some encouragement to get moving by my dad, I was looking to make a move. In the wooded section with 3 to go, I realised I was faster than the other 2. Just coming out onto the gravel climb I noticed I had a small lead over them. I chose this moment to make my move. This attack was initially enough to gain around a 10-15 second lead over Dieter, and then I was flat out until the end of the race. I was not going to let Dieter catch me as he would probably beat me in the sprint.

“This is my biggest achievement so far this season, so I hope to build on this at the Abergavenny National Trophy next weekend.”

A victorious Nick Barnes crosses the line Temple Newsam

A victorious Nick Barnes crosses the line Temple Newsam

This year Nick is riding the Raleigh RX Race carbon cross bike, and is also supported by Cole Wheels, Uvex helmets and Uvex sunglasses.

Leave a Reply

