Atkins unlucky at Allestree Park

Joe Atkins, Raleigh’s sponsored Cyclocross rider reports from the Allestree Park round of the Notts & Derby Cyclocross league:

Joe Atkins defending his lead

Joe Atkins (middle)

“Had a great race on Saturday at the Notts & Derby race at Allestree Park. It was a fast and really hard course.

“I was locked together with Bruce Dalton for the whole race in the Under 23 category. We worked well together for most of the race and I tried to put in a few attacks on the last lap but didn’t pay off so I ended up losing the sprint and finishing 2nd under 23 and 11th senior.

Atkins shoulders the burden

Atkins shoulders the burden

“I was really motivated for Sundays race after the day before and got off to a great start leading off the start with two other riders but my bad luck continued on the 3rd lap when I rolled my tubular tyre off and had to run nearly a whole lap! My bad luck has to stop soon!”

Joe Atkins defending his lead

Joe Atkins defending his lead

Joe competes this weekend in the National Trophy in Abergavenny, along with Jake Poole, Dylan Kerfoot-Robson and Nick Barnes.

Leave a Reply

