Raleigh riders pick up Team Of The Round award at Rapha Supercross

Our aspiring young cyclocross riders Dylan Kerfoot-Robson, Nick Barnes and Joe Atkins picked up the Rapha Team of the Round award this weekend as part of a five-man team competing in the famous Raleigh colours at Alexandra Palace, London.

DSC_0444

Barnes, Wells-Walling, Atkins, Beddis and Kerfoot-Robson

Kerfoot-Robson, Barnes and Atkins were selected from several hundred applicants earlier this year to represent us in cyclocross races across the UK. They were joined in the scratch team by Three Peaks winner Delia Beddis and 16-year old Josh Wells-Walling.

Awarding the prize, race organiser Ian Cleverly, Managing Editor of Rouleur said “they’ve ridden consistently brilliantly throughout the rounds, especially for young ‘uns.”

Raleigh Bikes Marketing Manager Ben Hillsdon – “The Supercross team has been an exciting prospect to watch this year. These guys have already been a real asset to the brand and I’m sure there’s plenty more to come this season.”

DSC_0366

Reporting on the race Dylan Kerfoot-Robson writes: “Yesterday was a really tough race made even more so by the gale force winds. Three straights into a headwind and seemingly no tail wind, so there was no let up.

“I got a really good start at about 5th position at the first corner but that’s when things started to go wrong. On the first small decent there was a slight chicane in the course and I found myself sandwiched between a Hope rider and a piece of tape with a marker stake at the end. Of course I was never going to move the Hope rider as he was twice he size of me, so I knew what lay in store for me from a while back. I hit the marker stake and it didn’t move. It must have looked quite spectacular a full front flip, landing a fair bit further down the hill from my bike.

“While I was in the air and scrambling back to my bike I must have been passed by about 30 riders and to rub the crash in even more I bent my rear mech hanger so all my gears were knocked out.

“I was back on my bikes for the next part of the course, the spiral of doom, and had to take some risks to try and keep our chances high in the team competition alive. I did a few crazy moves up the inside of riders just hoping the fact that they had me heading straight towards them mid corner would make them give me just enough space to get through and pass them. This actually worked and without a crash I think the amazing handling of the RX Team bike was the reason for this as I was able to nip in and out of gaps passing riders on the left and right even when we were in the spiral of doom.

DSC_0258

“I made up a few places but not enough so over the next few laps I was picking off riders one by one, timing my overtaking to hit them when the were suffering usually over the top of the climb, I think the light weight of the carbon RX Team helped me here. I had to make one bike swap as the gears on the bike I started off on had been knocked. Other than that it was quite a smooth race.

DSC_0267

“Coming into the final few laps Hope’s Mike Thompson was in front of me and I was reeling him in bit by bit every lap and at times it looked like I was going to catch him on the line, but a back marker held me up on the final single track decent so in the end he finished 10 meters ahead of me. Although if there was one more lap I think I could have caught him and moved up an extra place.

“For our team effort throughout the Rapha Supercross series we were awarded with the Rouleur team of the day, which was a great way to finish the series on a high. It was a fantastic team effort from everyone and a good learning curve. I can’t wait for next year, we’ll be older, stronger and faster and will hopefully make the overall team podium at the end of the series.

“I want to take this opportunity to thank my team mates for there 100% effort throughout the series and also Raleigh for selecting me to be a part of the RX Race team and to represent them at the Rapha Supercross.”

Overall the team finished just off the podium in fourth place but Barnes and Beddis both excelled in U-23 and women’s categories respectively, both making the podium with third places.

Congratulations also go out to Chris Rathbone who took first place in the Veterans category on the stunning RX Team bike.

1395424_10152860763797837_1372023462_n

Barnes, Atkins and Kerfoot-Robson return to action in the team colours next week for Round 2 of the Cyclocross National Trophy in Southampton.

Leave a Reply

