Nick reflects on a mixed Milton Keynes National Trophy cyclocross race

For Raleigh / Zepnat U-23 rider, this year is one for stepping up in class and competing against stronger and more experienced riders. However, youth counts for a lot and Nick has already scored notable wins this season. Nick reflects on a mixed Milton Keynes National Trophy race:

The course at Milton Keynes is good one in my opinion; it has plenty of elevation change, a bit of running and some rather tough flat sections.

“At the start of the race I tried to ride my own race as much as possible and not immediately go into the red. It paid off for the first 15 minutes and I established a good rhythm.

At about 20 minutes in I put in a dig to reach the back of the leading group and I managed to stay with them for a lap or so.

“Unfortunately one of the top riders had a stumble which held me up and it took a little more effort from me to regain contact. When we hit the major climb of the course the pace was too much for me and I dropped off the group.

Image

“I tried to push on but was slowly dropping back. However, I still had a goal to keep pushing forwards as Adam Martin (early leader of the U23 series) was behind me. I eventually caught a group and managed to stay with them for the last 3-4 laps of the race.

“In the last lap Lewis Craven decided to run a slippery corner and I chose to ride it, just managing to get beside him before the next corner so he couldn’t block me out. I opened enough of a gap to hold him until the finish, coming in fourth U23 and around 13th overall.

“It was an okay race but there are bits I could have done better. Hopefully I can rectify these for the remaining trophy events and national championships.”

Nick competes on the Raleigh RX Race cyclocross bike and is one of six cyclocross riders Raleigh is supporting in the 2013/14 season.

Leave a Reply

