Atkins in action at Divisional Championships

Joe Atkins races under the jersey of Ride Coventry on the Raleigh RX Race Cyclocross bike. He raced at the Midlands Divisional Championship at Hardwick Hall, Chesterfield on Sunday 8th December and had these words for us:

“Had a positive race at the Midlands Divisional championships this weekend finishing 11th senior and just off the podium in the under-23 category.

“I got off to a good start with the lead group of six but caught my foot on a tricky adverse camber and lost contact with the group. It was so windy that I couldn’t get back on – if I could have kept contact I am confident I’d have been with the group until much later in the race.

“After a few laps I was caught by two u-23 riders Joe Fox and George Sleaford and this was where the battle for the U23 Regional Championship title started.

“I couldn’t stay in contact with the flying Fox and was racing for second place with Sleaford until the final lap. Unfortunately I dropped my chain on the same adverse camber and was caught by Luke Markham losing my place on the podium.

“All in all I raced strongly and I was pleased with my fitness. The bike felt great on the technical slippy corners and also rolled great over the bumpy straights. Plus it was a real boost to have support from Raleigh’s Marketing Director (and former Cross champion) Geoff Giddings on the sideline!

“I’m off to Bradford this coming weekend to hopefully get my top 10 in the National Trophy back.”

Leave a Reply

