Kerfoot-Robson wins Junior Welsh Cyclo-Cross title in Builth Wells

Raleigh’s Dylan Kerfoot Robson rides the Raleigh RX Race for Graham Weigh Cycles in Deeside, North Wales. He picked up the Junior Welsh Cyclocross Championship title on Sunday 8th December. Raleigh would like to offer Dylan huge congratulations on his achievement and we’re proud to be putting this young star on the road to success: 

Here’s Dylan’s write up of the event: “We started off bright and early start with a 3 hour drive down to Builth Wells.

“In practice the course seemed to be more suited to a mountain bike as it was straight up and then back down the side of a hill with a rough bumpy single track climb and then a slightly more open but again bumpy descent back down to the start. 

Image

Image courtesy of Ian Ramsbottom

“I decided to stick with the Raleigh RX Race and as soon as the race started I was hitting the descents faster and the climbs with more momentum than my rivals. The frame is very forgiving over the bumpy terrain and was easy to flick around the tighter sections of the course and once again the light weight helped on the climbs especially the short steep ones as I was able to maintain my momentum up over and into the next section of course. 

“From the first straight I knew it wasn’t going to be an easy race as I had to go hard to make sure I wasn’t held up in the narrow single track sections, but what I wasn’t expecting was a Vet 40 sticking to my back wheel like glue.

“I rode the majority of the race constantly swapping the lead of the race with him, I kept pulling out a few seconds on him on the descents but with the number of riders on the course I kept getting held back and he would catch me up. Also he would pull out a few seconds on me while I was bike changing on to my cleaned, second bike, which I had to shut down on the first climb of the lap.

 

“It was frustrating that the race was decided by back markers but I suppose on a short course like that it was expected.

Coming into the final lap I made sure I was at the front when approaching slow back markers and I was able to use them to my advantage by making sure I got in front of them before sections I knew I was fast down.

Image

Image courtesy of Ian Ramsbottom

“Once again the geometry of the RX Team was filling me with confidence on the descents giving me the ability to push on while maintaining my control, this on the last lap of the race really helped me pull out a couple of second lead on the final descent, which I built on all the way to the line.

“This meant I not only won the race but also became the 2013 Junior Welsh Cyclo-Cross Champion.

“I would like to thank Raleigh for supporting me this season and helping me to win this title, and hopefully more. I have the equipment to achieve my goals now it’s just down to me to put in the hard miles and give 110% in every race.”

Leave a Reply

