Shrewsbury mud bath for Harry Yates: National Trophy Round 6

Harry Yates at Round 6 of the National Trophy in Shrewsbury

Image

A very muddy course greeted the riders early in January for the last round of the National Trophy. Heavy rain made for tough race conditions and required strong cross country running and shouldering of bikes.

Harry raced later in the day in the U/16’s Youth race had great start, staying well ahead of chasing groups and battled away for the top positions in the early half of the race.

As the slippery conditions took their toll Harry’s duo of Raleigh RX bikes were put into heavy rotation and he eventually came home 7th in a fragmented finishing field.

Harry said “My season has progressed very well, the support from Raleigh has been terrific and the bikes have felt good in every race. Having missed the first half of the season, which was major disappointment for me, I’ve fought back to a commendable and consistent top 10 National placing, and I have another year left in this category, so I’m feeling good about the season now its rolling for me.

“I really enjoy this venue I haven’t raced here when it’s not muddy! The added long straight in the mid section definitely changed the course dynamics, suiting the power riders, so that was a real challenge, and the conditions meant the Wooded section was removed which is where I usually gain a few seconds, but that’s the fun of the National series, plenty of different courses and conditions to contend with, the RX bike deals with all types extremely well. 

“I feel I’m in good form going into the National Championships next week, and another flat fast course to contend with, so the racing should be exciting but as always very demanding.”

Leave a Reply

